A 52545 Home For Christmas
Previously released material
Released on 2001
no chart information
Find it at GEMM
A 52545 cover
[high resolution scan]

T his Is Christmas... Again. Only less of it. Sony stole six tracks from under This Is Christmas’ tree, tacked on a tune each from 1994’s Songs (“What The World Needs Now”) and Never Let Me Go (“Little Miracles”), nicked the cover shot from Never while they were at it, slapped some green Christmas balls behind it and, VOILA, brand xmas. Luther’s 1995 Christmas album was a pleasant present, featuring original material as well as soulful and jazzy arrangements of classics. He treads lightly on Johnny Mathis’ star with “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” serves up a bouncy original duet with Darlene Love on “I Listen To The Bells” and digs into Julie Andrews’ bag for a swingin’ version of “My Favorite Things.” Not everything in this Home is yuletidy, however. “Little Miracles” is Christian but not Christmas (yes, I realize that the distinction should be unnecessary), nor is “What The World Needs Now” or “My Favorite Things.” And while I’m grinching, original songs like “With A Christmas Heart” and “Please Come Home For Christmas” could have been trimmed without losing any Christmas cheer. But the main attraction is the voice of Vandross, which is estimable. Any man who can make the word “schnitzel” sound sexy has my respect. In between the Bing and Burl, Johnny M and Elvis, there must be a spot for Luther Vandross. His voice is, after all, a gift from God, and one we can all enjoy come Christmas time. The themes of Christ, Love and Christmas, even in such dubious packaging, rise to the occasion and provide some of the most soulful Christmas songs this side of Johnny Mathis.


  1. O' COME ALL YE FAITHFUL    (John Reading/John Francis Wade, arr. by Marcus Miller)    4:17
  2. MY FAVORITE THINGS    (Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein II)    5:58
  3. WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW    (Burt Bacharach/Hal David)    5:18
  4. WITH A CHRISTMAS HEART    (Luther Vandross/John Anderson)    4:03
  5. I LISTEN TO THE BELLS    (Luther Vandross/Alfonso Thornton)    6:07
  6. LITTLE MIRACLES (HAPPEN EVERY DAY)    (Luther Vandross/Marcus Miller)    4:41
  7. PLEASE COME HOME FOR CHRISTMAS    (Luther Vandross/John Anderson)    3:37
  8. HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS    (Ralph Blane/Hugh Martin)    5:04


return to XMAS discography

US 2001 Sonus Music Special Products CD A 52545  


For more discographies visit...

© 2009 Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.