9 26388-2 Reverberation
Produced by Geoff Emerick
Released on November 1990
no chart information
Find it at GEMM
9 26388-2 cover
[high resolution scan]

I an was gone, gone, gone and all that remained was a familiar Echo. At least that’s how the would-be elegists wrote it, since to them the head was gone and only the arms kept twitching. I won’t accord vocalist Noel Burke the high honors heaped at Ian McCulloch but the man can carry a tune and doesn’t sound any worse than Ian Astbury to these ears. The resulting Echo sounds like Eastern gothic psychedelia, a sure recipe for indigestion you would think, but the songwriting is pretty damn solid. “Enlighten Me,” “Gone, Gone, Gone,” “Thick Skinned World” and “Freaks Dwell” are all strong tracks, and four strong tracks on any Echo & The Bunnymen album is an accomplishment. There are a lot of interesting instruments on Reverberation: autoharp, cello, tabla, mellotron, sitar. As exotic as these ingredients are, the reconstituted Echo lacks the subtle flavor found on Ocean Rain, instead sounding a lot like The Cure (not that the comparison is something new). However, I’ve wandered through too many cardboard castles with The Damned to call Reverberation a superficial record. Will Sergeant and Les Pattinson aren’t trying to sound like Echo, they’re the genuine article, and this record makes clear just how large a role they played in the band’s earlier music. (Had Pete de Freitas survived, it’s likely he would have remained with the band, which underscores the “new” group’s legitimacy I suppose.) But fans weren’t having any of it, and held their breath until Ian returned for Evergreen. If the idea of Dave Vanian fronting Echo & The Bunnymen seems an affront, then feel free to take your drum machine and go home. For the rest us, Echo and Reverberation are the same thing.

9 26388-2 gatefold sleeve
9 26388-2 gatefold sleeve


  1. GONE, GONE, GONE    4:15
  2. ENLIGHTEN ME    4:37
  3. CUT & DRIED    3:45
  4. KING OF YOUR CASTLE    4:35
  5. DEVILMENT    4:40
  7. FREAKS DWELL    4:05
  8. SENSELESS    4:50
  9. FLAMING RED    5:33
  10. (*CD bonus track:) FALSE GOODBYES    5:38

    All songs written by Echo & The Bunnymen


JAKE BROCKMAN -- mellotron, farsifa
NOEL BURKE -- vocals, guitars, piano
LES PATTINSON -- bass, piano
DAMON REECE -- drums, percussion
WILL SERGEANT -- guitar, loops, autoharp
Shanker Ganguly -- harmonium
Punita Gupta -- sitar
John Leach -- cimbalon, kantele, dulcimer
John Mayer -- tampura, violin (director)
Adam Peters -- cello, piano
Esmail Sheikh -- tabla, dholak
Gurdev Singh -- tar shahanai
Will Gosling -- engineer
Me Company -- cover
Michael McKenzie -- photography
Adrian Green -- band photography

return to ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN discography

UK November 1990 Korova LP/CD/CS KODE 14 inner sleeve
US December 1990 Sire/Warner Bros. LP/CD/CS 26388  
GER 1990 Korova LP/CD 72553  


For more discographies visit...

© 2005 Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.