564 791-2 The Best of Steve Winwood:
20th Century Masters The Millenium Collection
Compilation produced by Bill Levenson
Released on October 19, 1999
no chart information
Find it at GEMM
564 791-2 cover
[high resolution scan]

K ronomyth 9.5: STUCK IN TRAFFIC. The new millenium apparently has no use for a Steve Winwood solo album. The whole Millenium Collection series was just a misguided attempt by Island/Universal to make some money with budget-priced compilations; not as lame as BMG’s Extended Versions series, mind you, but also well shy of the bar set by Hip-O’s Gold series. This Steve Winwood disc is lamer than most because it does not contain a single Steve Winwood solo recording. Instead, it compiles work from Steve’s pre-solo affiliations: Spencer Davis, Blind Faith and Traffic. In the unlikely event that there exists a person who has purchased every Steve Winwood solo album but owns not a drop of Traffic or Blind Faith, then this album is for them, and its discovery will no doubt be greeted with the epiphany: “Bah, I have wasted my life on fluff and piffle!” The choices here aren’t bad, and might have made a nice introduction to a double-disc Best of Steve Winwood disc, but Island is apparently compilationally challenged where Steve Winwood is concerned, having opted earlier for a fearsome four-disc set that even a fan would find daunting. If you’re looking for a good single-disc compilation of Steve Winwood the solo artist, stick with Chronicles. Those looking for a single-disc summation of Winwood before and after (but oddly absent of) his first solo disc may be interested in 2010’s Revolutions, although I would tell you there’s too much missing from both sides of the story to make Revolutions an interesting spin.

564 791-2 back sleeve
564 791-2 back sleeve
[high resolution scan]


  1. GIMME SOME LOVIN'    (Steve Winwood/Muff Winwood/Spencer Davis)    2:56
  2. I'M A MAN    (Steve Winwood/Jimmy MIller)    2:55
  3. PAPER SUN    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi)    4:14
  4. DEAR MR. FANTSY    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi/Chris Wood)    5:38
  5. PEARLY QUEEN    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi)    4:18
  6. FORTY THOUSAND HEADMEN    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi)    3:13
  7. HAD TO CRY TODAY    (Steve Winwood)    8:47
  8. CAN'T FIND MY WAY HOME    (Steve Winwood)    3:17
  9. JOHN BARLEYCORN    (Trad. arr. by Steve Winwood)    6:22
  10. EMPTY PAGES    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi)    4:33
  11. LOW SPARK OF HIGH-HEELED BOYS    (Steve Winwood/Jim Capaldi)    11:41


Vartan -- art direction
Mike Fink @ ilevel -- design
David Gahr -- cover photo

return to STEVE WINWOOD discography

US October 19, 1999 Island CD 564 791-2  


For more discographies visit...

© 2012 Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.