EGLPC 42 Night After Night
Produced by Eddie Jobson and John Wetton
Released on 1979
no chart information
Find it at GEMM
EGLPC 42 cover  

A s quickly as it started, it was over, and another supergroup was superseded by individual interests. Night After Night was mixed and released after the band’s final performances in Japan, during the summer of 1979. Included here are two new tracks performed live, “Night After Night” and “As Long As You Want Me Here,” which show a lack of creative chemistry was not UK’s undoing. Perhaps the wonder is that UK lasted at all after the loss of Bruford and Holdsworth, except that Jobson and Wetton always were the heart of the group. On this performance, Jobson’s keyboards (and occasional violin) are outstanding, filling in the space so well that he nearly does the work of two musicians (“Alaska” is particularly impressive). John Wetton’s voice is in fine form, delivering the new tracks and “old” favorites like “Rendezvous 6:02” with the right amounts of drama and nuance. Terry Bozzio does a good job on drums, with plenty of double-stroke rolls tripping smoothly over the tom-toms just as they did in Zappa’s employ. The new material, the clean recording, and the lack of anything else from the band conspire to make Night After Night that rare essential live recording. Some listeners have even anointed this their best effort; perhaps overenthusiastic praise, but cheeky product this is not. Given the often redundant nature of live recordings, this one is remarkably relevant.


  1. NIGHT AFTER NIGHT    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    5:21
  2. RENDEZVOUS 6:02    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    5:17
  3. NOTHING TO LOSE    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    5:25
  4. AS LONG AS YOU WANT ME HERE    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    5:00
  5. ALASKA    (Eddie Jobson)    4:21
  6. TIME TO KILL    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton/Bill Bruford)    4:17
  7. PRESTO VIVACE    (Eddie Jobson)    1:12
  8. IN THE DEAD OF NIGHT    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    6:22
  9. CAESAR'S PALACE BLUES    (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton)    4:58


TERRY BOZZIO -- drums and percussion
EDDIE JOBSON -- keyboards & electric violin
JOHN WETTON -- lead voice and bass guitar, cover
Michael Braunstein -- engineer
Alwyn Clayden -- cover
Max Takahashi, John Shaw, Neil Zlozower, Ebet Roberts -- photography

return to U.K. discography

UK 1979 Polydor LP POLD 5026  
US/CAN 1979 Polydor LP PD-1-6234  
JPN   Polydor LP MPF-1265 gatefold cover, poster
NET 1979? Polydor LP 2302 096  
US June 30, 1990 Editions EG LP/CD/CS EGLP/EGCD/EGLPC 42 Collector's Edition


For more discographies visit...

© 2004Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.