2083-2-P Polar Shift: A Benefit For Antarctica
Produced by Anna Turner & Terence Yallop
Released on June 11, 1991
no chart information
Find it at GEMM
2083-2-P cover
[high resolution scan]

I CE AGE. Real Music owner Terence Yallop (a pioneer in new age music) and producer/radio show host Anna Turner assembled a compilation of prominent new age artists to raise awareness of Antarctica and benefit the Cousteau Society, entitled Polar Shift. The impetus, apparently, was the imminent Antarctica Treaty ratification for environmental protection of the area (it was approved several months after the compilation’s release). Only three of the compilation’s thirteen songs are unique to the compilation, including Yanni’s “Song For Antarctica,” Constance Demby’s “Into Forever” and a collaboration between Demby, Paul Sutin and Steve Howe, “Polar Flight.” The remainder is borrowed from existing albums, including two tracks from Vangelis’ 1983 soundtrack, Antarctica. If you enjoy new age music, you’ll enjoy this sampler. (You’re also a marshmallow; a big, fluffy marshmallow.) If you don’t enjoy new age music, the words “pile of shift” will likely come to mind at some point (say, during the histrionic and anticlimactic “Light of the Spirit”). My only interest in this CD was to hear “Polar Flight,” and as the first of the Sutin/Howe works I’ve heard it’s pretty good (probably no worse than Rick Wakeman’s Aspirant Sun series). Of the remaining cuts, “Pura Vida” from Chris Spheeris and Paul Voudouris caught my ear, so I may have to check out more of that. The rest of the artists (Yanni, John Tesh, Enya) left me cold. Those in search of icy tones would do better to seek out the original Antarctica from Vangelis, Mannheim Steamroller’s Fresh Aire IV or The Pearl by Harold Budd and Brian Eno.


  1. Vangelis: THEME FROM ANTARCTICA    (Vangelis)    7:27
  2. Yanni: SECRET VOWS    (Yanni)    3:57
  3. Chris Spheeris/Paul Voudouris: PURA VIDA    (Chris Spheeris/Paul Voudouris)    3:49
  4. Yanni: SONG FOR ANTARCTICA    (Yanni)    4:23
  5. Jim Chappell: LULLABY    (Jim Chappell)    4:44
  6. Enya: WATERMARK    (Enya/Nicky Ryan/Roma Ryan)    2:24
  7. Steve Howe/Constance Demby/Paul Sutin: POLAR FLIGHT    (Paul Sutin/Benoit Corboz)    4:13
  8. John Tesh: DAY ONE    (John Tesh)    5:11
  9. Suzanne Ciani: ANTHEM    (Suzanne Ciani)    3:54
  10. Constance Demby: INTO FOREVER    (Constance Demby)    4:54
  11. Vangelis: ANTARCTIC ECHOES    (Vangelis)    5:55
  12. Chris Spheeris: FIELD OF TEARS    (Chris Spheeris)    3:08
  13. Kitaro: LIGHT OF THE SPIRIT    (Kitaro)    7:27


Jim Chappell -- producer, piano (5)
Suzanne Ciani -- performer, producer (9)
Constance Demby -- performer, producer (7,10)
Enya -- performer, producer (6)
Steve Howe -- performer, producer (7)
Kitaro -- performer, producer (13)
Chris Spheeris -- performer, producer (3,12)
Paul Sutin -- performer, producer (7)
John Tesh -- performer (8)
Vangelis -- arranger, producer, performer (1,11)
Paul Voudouris -- performer, producer (3)
Yanni -- performer (2,4), producer (4) Peter Baumann -- producer (2)
Carter Cathcart -- producer (8)
Benoit Corboz -- producer (7)
Nicky Ryan -- producer (6)
Anne Turner -- producer (7,10)
Boelts Bros. Design -- design
Jody Boyman -- cover photograph

US June 11, 1991 Private Music CD/CS 2083-2-P  


For more discographies visit...

© 2010 Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.